Copy two custom fields from Epic to all created issues within the project

D.NewberryDeGuzman August 17, 2022

Hi gurus! 

I'm relatively new to Jira so I badly need your help to build a global automation rule.

I have an specific Epic within every single project in our org that contains in its name word "Metadata" (example: project 1 Demo - Matadata).

When any issue type is created in each project in my org, two custom fields (Project Tracking ID and Project reference) should be copied from this project's Epic "project 1 Demo - Metadata" to  all issues within this particular project. 

Accordingly for project 2 all issues will look for the Epic " project 2 Demo - Metadata and so on.

Can you help me with it, if possible with details.

Thank you very much in advance!

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 17, 2022

Hello @D.NewberryDeGuzman 

Welcome to the community.

I have a couple of questions.

1. Does each project have one and only one Epic with the work "Metadata" in it?

2. Are the issues being created being made child issues of that Epic never/sometimes/always?

3. Have you reviewed your Global Rule execution limit and considered how many times this would run to ensure you will not exceed your limit?

4. How many projects are there? If the number of executions might exceed your limit, you could opt to create a rule per project if that is not an onerous task.

D.NewberryDeGuzman August 17, 2022

Hi Trudy, 

Thank you for your message.

Please, find my answers below:

1. Does each project have one and only one Epic with the work "Metadata" in it? - Yes, there is only one Epic in each project that contains the wording " - "Metadata". We can give to all this Epics only one name for example "Project Metadata"