• Give kudos
  • Received
  • Given

Leaderboard

• Global

Trophy case

Kudos (beta program)

Kudos logo

You've been invited into the Kudos (beta program) private group. Chat with others in the program, or give feedback to Atlassian.

View group

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Column Management

I am new to Jira - Kanban as a project administrator and would love to know if I can set restrictions on the "done" column to disappear? I do not want cards/issues staying in the "done" column forever which will then allow the Kanban to become overwhelmed while trying to hold status meetings and review what we have completed thus far. How do I set a time limit of when the "done" column disappears and where does it disappear to?

3 answers

1 vote
John Funk Community Leader Mar 18, 2019

Hi Cassandra and welcome to the community.

A project administrator should be able to do a Release on the board, which clears out the Done column for you. We meet weekly to review what we have accomplished and to do a release. But that time period can be whatever works best for your team. 

You can also set the sub-filter on your board to hide the Done cards after a certain amount of time. But that just masks things to me. But it works!

Hope that helps. 

Hi John! Thanks so much! I’ll try both out and see which one I like better 

1 vote
Jack Community Leader Mar 18, 2019

Hi @Cassandra Grayes , welcome to the community. Yes you can do this. That is what the sub-filter in Kanban boards are often used for. for example you could add the following to your current sub-filter...

resolved >=-2w or resolved is empty

Hi jack! Thanks so much. The resolved query, is that located in board settings? 

Jack Community Leader Mar 18, 2019

Yes. see image below...

subfilter.jpg