Can I management a software development project in waterfall model?

Naveed Ahmed May 20, 2021

Hello team,

I'm new to waterfall project management. I'm really struggling to track project progress.
There are a couple of questions I need to ask:

1. Can I manage software progress following the waterfall methodology in Jira?
  2. How can I track project progress in terms of deliverables or developers? 
  3. How can I show progress to management?
  4. how can I show the complete project timeline?

There are a couple of other questions as well but If you can answer me ones above will be great. 

Thanks,

-Naveed

3 answers

1 vote
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 20, 2021

Great input here already but I wanted to share something a bit different and how I have previously done some waterfall projects. Hopefully these ideas will be useful to you. 

1. I set up my workflow to represent the milestones of my waterfall methodology. For instance I might have high-level design complete, design complete, implementation complete, unit tested, system tested and then done.
  2. I created Kanban board with columns the line with my milestones.
  3. Are use Epics to represent features or major components of work and then I use swim Lights by Epics.
  4. when Epics are complete, i.e. all issues are in the done category for that epic then I can release that epic if I’m ready to move to production.
  5. finally I create a dashboard and set up an array of gadgets that help upper management and product managers visualize the progress
1 vote
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 20, 2021
  1. Yes