Can I create an Initiative without Advanced Roadmaps?

Maria Chec August 30, 2022

I work for a relatively small company and we have the normal Jira setup without the Advanced Roadmap (Plans or however you call it today) plugin. At this point, the plugin would be an overhead for us. 

I need to have a new issue type like an Initiative to be larger than an Epic and have various Epics linked to it. 

How can I create it myself and set the right hierarchy to it? I am an Admin, in the Standard Jira plan?

5 answers

5 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Craig Nodwell
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 30, 2022

Hi @Maria Chec 

You create the issue type 

Create a link type that reflects the parent/child relationship 

If you have something like scriptrunner you can also create a scripted field to do that linking but not necessary. 

OK, thanks. 

I created it. Now how do I make sure it has the Type Scheme assigned and is above Epic in the hierarchy?

Managed with the schemes.

2 votes
Answer accepted
Hannes Obweger - JXL for Jira
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
August 30, 2022

Hi @Maria Chec

regarding your question on how to properly visualise an issue-link based hierarchy, that's not really well possible in "native" Jira; however, there's a number of hierarchy focused apps in the Atlassian Marketplace, of which some can show issue-link based hierarchies. As an example, I myself work on an app called JXL for Jira, where this can be configured easily. E.g., in the below clip, there's two hierarchy levels on top of epics, both via issue links:

5-level-hierarchy.gif