Calculation between 2 custom fields (Probability x Impact)

Amrik Birdi June 28, 2021

Hello,
I hope you can help.
I have 2 custom fields (select list (single choice)) with values
Probability:

• unspecified
  • very unlikely
  • unlikely
  • likely
  • very likely
  • almost certain

with values of
0 = unspecified
1 = very unlikely
2 = unlikely
3 = likely
4 = very likely
5 = almost certain

Impact

• unspecified
  • insignificant
  • minor
  • moderate
  • major
  • catastrophic

with values of:
0 = unspecified
1 = insignificant
2 = minor
3 = moderate
4 = major
5 = catastrophic

I'm a complete novice to ScriptRunner but what I would like to see is

As an example:
from Probability - if I was to select 'unlikely' and from
from Impact - if I was to select 'moderate'

I would want the outcome of 6 (2 x 3) appearing as an integer in another custom field.

I would appreciate you r help in the resolution

Version of ScriptRunner: 5.6.1.1-jira8

Version of JIRA (server) 8.3.3

regards

Amrik

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Ram Kumar Aravindakshan _Adaptavist_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 28, 2021

Hi @Amrik Birdi

For your requirement, I would suggest using the Scripted Field. For more information, you can visit the ScriptRunner Documentation.

Also, please update the current version of ScriptRunner you are using to the latest release i.e. 6.28.0 as there been many bug fixes since the current version you are using.

Below is an example working code for your reference:-

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor

def customFieldManager = ComponentAccessor.customFieldManager

def probability = customFieldManager.getCustomFieldObjectsByName("Probability")[0]
def probabilityValue = issue.getCustomFieldValue(probability).toString()