• Give kudos
  • Received
  • Given

Leaderboard

• Global

Trophy case

Kudos (beta program)

Kudos logo

You've been invited into the Kudos (beta program) private group. Chat with others in the program, or give feedback to Atlassian.

View group

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

BigPicture Gantt is not updated with Task's Actual Start/Finish Date

I am fairly new to BigPicture.

I created a bunch of JIRA Tasks and arranged them using BigPicture Gantt chart according to my Planned Start/Finish Dates (01/08/2021).
So when I complete such tasks and enter the Actual Start/Finish Date (01/29/2021) along with the logged hours  (which for whatever reason it is not the same as the Planned one). I would expect to see that change in the Gantt, but no, I still see the Task in the same original date.

Is it possible to automatically have the tasks updated in the Gantt with the Actual Start/Finish Date once I have completed and updated the Task using JIRA? I really need to now if this is possible since we need to know how the completion date will affect the overall planning and timing for linked TasksJIRA Task.pngGantt Task.png

1 answer

Hello @Cesar Barragan 
Let me shed more light on the logic behind synchronization. By default, our app requires two points on the timeline (in other words, two dates) to generate a taskbar and determine the start and endpoints. Those points in time are the task's 'Start date" and 'End date' and are stored as 'Start date' and 'End date' custom fields by default.

However, BigPicture allows you to map also other fields to represent Start & End Date. In general, there are three main strategies for task synchronization: