Best way to see Logged Time for specific things

Everett Cavazos July 16, 2021

I want the managers of my company to be able to specifically see what employees are spending time on.I have been a Jira admin for about 1.5 years but haven't confronted this particular topic yet, so seeking some insight.

I considered labels and components as my choices. Between the two, I'm thinking Components would be the ideal choice, as labels (in my view) are more "relaxed" and less fundamental (and less powerful) than Components. Other than the fact that you can use Components to auto-assign issues, you can assign more than one to an issue, which is nice. Then, I will build JQL filters specifying individual components and then use Tempo to build reports with those filters.

Does anyone have experience with this? Is this a viable option? Or is there someone out there with a better solution?

5 answers

0 votes
Matthew Challenger November 24, 2023

How is this very simple function not free? 

0 votes
Yuliia_Borivets__SaaSJet_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
July 26, 2021

Hi @Everett Cavazos 

Check out the article below. I believe it will be helpful to get the time reports for employees.

How to manage your team without time tracking tools?

If you want to get information on how many people have been assigned to a particular task and how long they have been working on it, Time in Status for Jira Cloud plugin provides you with this data.

2 article TIS effects.jpg

My team developed this add-on to simplify managers' lives. Try if it will be useful for you and let me know if you have any questions. 

You may check the online demo version at first.

Regards, Yulia

0 votes
Emre Toptancı _OBSS_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
July 26, 2021