Automation rule question: if due date is changed on parent

Ajda Gruden September 9, 2022

Hello!

I'm still relatively new with automations, and my most recent rule doesn't seem to do what I want it to.

When a due date on a parent issue is updated, the due dates of the sub-tasks need to be updated too and 3 additional subtasks need to be created.

I tried tackling the first action first, as it seems simple enough, so I did this:

due date subtask.png

When I tested the rule, the audit log says it succeeded, but the due date in the subtask was empty. What did I do wrong?

due date empty.png

Thank you in advance!
Ajda

1 answer

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Martin Bayer _MoroSystems_ s_r_o__
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 9, 2022

Hi @Ajda Gruden you need to use branch with subtasks. Something like this:

Screen Shot 2022-09-09 at 15.40.32.png

Feel free to comment if you need more help :)

Ajda Gruden September 9, 2022

Hello @Martin Bayer _MoroSystems_ s_r_o__ !

Thank you for your answer :) I changed it like so + adding the other sub-task that needs to be created. Unfortunately, the due date field remains empty :/ And curiously enough, the second sub-task gets created, as it should.

The audit log displays a success.

Here's what the rule looks like now:

2022-09-09 15_55_31-Automation - Jira.png

Can you tell what I'm missing? :)

Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 9, 2022

I see two problems with your changes.

In the Edit Issue Fields action you need to change the Copy Due date from Current Issue to be Copy Due date from Parent.