Automate Task Creation

Nandakumar Sakthivel December 27, 2020

Hi,

I am new to JIRA and need some help for achieving the below use case.

Requirement : We have 3 releases per year ( Spring, Summer and Winter) and we do support N-3 releases. If customer reports an issue in one of the supported version then the  fix needs to be back-ported/forward-ported based on current version.

Current Version ( to be released ) is Spring 21 and the supported version is Winter 20, Summer 20 and Spring 20

Use Case 1:  If customer reports an issue in Winter 20 version then fix needs to be ported to Spring 21, Summer 20 and Spring 20 versions

Use Case 2: If customer reports an issue in Spring 20 version then the fix needs to be ported to Summer 20, Winter 20 and Spring 21 versions

I want to automate the task creation for this process ( e.g., If a customer reports an issue in Winter 20 version then i need to create 3 porting tasks and porting task should have the corresponding version tagged  )

High Level Approach,

1. Define a global variable to hold the current version ( Spring 21 ) at that point of time ( I don't find an option to do this and able to see this in documentation )

2. If a customer reported issue is fixed on a particular version and closed then the automation task will be triggered

3. Action can be added in the Automation to Create Tasks ( N-3 ), All the tasks should be tagged for the appropriate versions ( like Winter20 , Summer21 )  based on the current version ( global variable ) 

I am not clear on how to achieve tagging version or updating title with version for the newly created tasks as some logic needs to be applied to determine N-3 releases based on current version. 

Can you please provide some guidance on this ?

Thanks !!

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Ravi Sagar _Sparxsys_
Rising Star
Rising Star