ALM Structure Formula: Count unique assignees of children

KD September 6, 2022

Hi there-

I am trying to use a Formula column to display the number of unique assignees in the children of a folder. 

For example, if there are 3 children tasks under folder, 2 of which are assigned to John and 1 is assigned to Jane, I would like the Formula to display: 2.

I can get the unique assignees successfully as text values with this....

IF type = "epic" OR type = "story" :
VALUES#children { assignee.UNIQUE() }

But I am struggling to find a way to display the above as just a number. I have tried just replacing VALUES in the above formula with COUNT but then the number displayed stops showing me 'unique' and only shows me a total. 

Thoughts on how I can achieve this? I'm sure it mustn't be that hard but I am still very new to using this formula language.

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nicholas Ellis _ALM Works_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
September 6, 2022

Hi Kota,

Your code is really close, you just need to add the size function, to return the number of occurrences, instead of the unique list of assignees, like this:

IF type = "epic" OR type = "story" :
VALUES#children { assignee }.unique().size()

Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Cheers,
Nick [ALM Works]

KD September 7, 2022

Wow close indeed! Thank you @Nicholas Ellis _ALM Works_ !

I do have one more question, do you know how to alter this formula to include the sum of all nested children? 

Below is an example of the result I am getting - as you can see the column is showing the sum of children but only 1 level deep.

formula.png

Nicholas Ellis _ALM Works_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
September 7, 2022

Hi Kota,