Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reset issue key

James Hu November 9, 2022

Hi,

I am new to JSM. Our company want to migrate customer service from an ERP to JSM. I am in the process of set up enviroment and testing.

We have created a few test issues in the new project and after test import issues from CSV. The issue key now start from xxx-5000000. My question is after the testing period, we need to delete all test issues. If the new issues key starts from xxx-5000001, is there any way to reset from xxx-1?

Thanks for help.

Regards

James

3 answers

3 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Joseph Chung Yin
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 9, 2022

@James Hu -

Hi James:

Unfortunately not, it is because the counter/index is maintained in the DB backend and cannot be or manipulated to change it.  I would recommend you to create a new project using the same project configuration of your existing one, then conduct your actual issue import via CSV when ready.

Hope this helps.

Best, Joseph Chung Yin

Jira/JSM Functional Lead, Global Infrastructure Applications Team

Viasat Inc.

Hi Joseph,

Thanks for your comment. Is there a way to clone a project in JSM cloud? I thought that would be easier to have a new project.

Joseph Chung Yin
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 9, 2022

@James Hu -

Yes.  You just need to check the "Share settings with an existing project" option during your new project setup where essentially using the configuration of your test JSM project. 

NOTE - The only thing you need to know that once it is done, then any change done in the configuration will impact both projects.

2022-11-09_20-24-42.png