Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JSM automation to raise multiple new tickets

Paul Cantle June 10, 2024

Hi all, I'm pretty new to JSM so looking for a bit of help if possible.

I've created a (user onboarding) form which (based on a drop down menu) changes the number of fields that are displayed. This is working fine.

What I wanted following the submission of the form was to trigger auto-creation of a number of subsequent tickets and that number would be based on the number of users in the onboarding form.

e.g. If a project owner requests that 5 new users are onboarded and fills out their details, upon submission, i'd like 5 additional (linked) tickets to be created (1 per user).  

Thus far, i've managed to have the automation create 1 linked "child" ticket, but it was purely based on submission of the "parent" not the data used within it.

Is there anyway, based on random fields (that are filled out with user details) that I can create automation to create the number of tickets based on the number of users required?

A bonus would be if I could assign those ticket to the respective (user1|user2|user3|user4|user5  email address fields.

Thanks!

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Valerie Knapp
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 10, 2024

Hi @Paul Cantle , welcome to the Atlassian Community and thanks for your question!

I am doing something similar for an Onboarding request like this -

image.png