Jira search insanely slow for one user -- mine

Bryan Karsh
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 18, 2016

Hi guys,

This is a weird one. I am the JIRA admin at my company. I have been working with JIRA for 5+ years. I've created and managed more users than I can count. But I ran into something with my own user that is seriously confusing me. This is what I know:

-- Doing a search for all issues with my user can take up to 5 minutes.

-- Creating a separate user with same permissions takes a few seconds to do the above search.

-- spot checking other users confirm that the search result problem seems to be just for me.

-- This behavior is the same regardless of computer or mobile device.

-- JIRA version is 6.2.5

-- Crowd version is 2.7.2  (note – we are not using LDAP – local crowd directories)

-- Increasing logging hasn't shown anything bizarre yet. Both in crowd and in Jira.

-- I don't have any unfinished filters

--  I don't have a large number of filters, and the ones I do have don't pull a lot of results, or spin a lot of cpu querying.

So.. a little stumped. Any ideas?

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Bryan Karsh
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 18, 2016

Ack.... found the problem. My default navigation configuration included a custom field associated with a 3rd party plugin... which was configured badly. Once I removed the field everything was happy again.

GabrielleJ
Rising Star
Rising Star
July 19, 2016

It's always the plugin! ha! Glad you found it.

adrien_rochereau March 10, 2017