new DB creation even if the database exists (jira-core container vs MySQL host)

Francesco R
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 28, 2020

I'm new to containers and maybe I lack some impostant knowledges.
My goal was to create a jira-core container with my customizations (my plugins, some configuration files etc.) and to use it connected to a MySQL server running on the host, with already stored issues (i.e. already used with a normal jira-core instance).
I succeeded in connecting the customized container (FROM atlassian/jira-core:7.13.2-jdk8) to the server (after some failed attemps) sharing the dbconfig.xml file (through a VOLUME [${JIRA_HOME}]) and modifing the url string in it.

When the jira container started the 1st time in the log there were traces like these:

[...]
JIRA-Bootstrap WARN [o.o.c.entity.jdbc.DatabaseUtil] Entity "Action" has no table in the database
JIRA-Bootstrap ERROR [o.o.c.entity.jdbc.DatabaseUtil] Could not create table "jira_docker01.jiraaction"
JIRA-Bootstrap ERROR [o.o.c.entity.jdbc.DatabaseUtil] SQL Exception while executing the following:
CREATE TABLE jira_docker01.jiraaction (ID DECIMAL(18,0) NOT NULL, issueid DECIMAL(18,0), AUTHOR VARCHAR(255), actiontype VARCHAR(255), actionlevel VARCHAR(255), rolelevel DECIMAL(18,0), actionbody LONGTEXT, CREATED DATETIME, UPDATEAUTHOR VARCHAR(255), UPDATED DATETIME, actionnum DECIMAL(18,0), CONSTRAINT PK_jiraaction PRIMARY KEY (ID))
Error was: com.mysql.jdbc.exceptions.jdbc4.MySQLSyntaxErrorException: Table 'jiraaction' already exists
JIRA-Bootstrap WARN [o.o.c.entity.jdbc.DatabaseUtil] Entity "Application" has no table in the database
JIRA-Bootstrap ERROR [o.o.c.entity.jdbc.DatabaseUtil] Could not create table "jira_docker01.cwd_application"