Why am I receiving email notifications for issues that I'm not a watcher and not interacted with?

Benjamin Dains January 18, 2023

Problem

I constantly get email notifications from a wide range of issues from projects I never do any work in. I'm not a watcher of these issues, and I have never interacted with them in any way.

So why am I getting so many update emails?

My Thoughts

The only possible culprit that I can think of is I created many of the Jira Automations that we currently run for our users (and no I created a service account that performs the actions, nothing is done with my user) and possibly the fact that I'm an admin, but I don't think either of these things should be bombarding me with unnecessary notifications.

Any ideas, or do you have any advice where to start troubleshooting?

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Rob Horan
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 18, 2023

Hi @Benjamin Dains ,

Your project notification scheme is most likely configured to send to role or group members at key points.  This would sent to all, regardless of whether or not they are a watcher.

Thanks for the quick reply @Rob Horan I'll go take a look at that! I appreciate the insight.

Like Rob Horan likes this

@Rob Horan well this is going to get really weird now, I checked the notification schemes and those all look like they shouldn't be sending me anything.

So I looked into the notification helper, and I used some of the issues that I received via my inbox this morning, and none of the notification events show green for my user. According to the helper I shouldn't receive any notifications on these random issues. I even tried a few, all from different projects along with every possible event combination, and still not seeing a reason why I should have received the updates.