How to populate CI builds in JIRA issue

Kalyan Raj Sista November 1, 2018

How can I populate 'CI Builds' within JIRA issue. Currently, I am Jenkins as CI/CD tool. My understanding is that when a particular Jenkins job is run, CI builds will be updated with relevant information about the release, list of files changed etc.

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Stephen Sifers
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 15, 2018

Hello Kalyan,

Jenkins and Jira together can be a powerhouse duo. Getting Jenkins to talk back to Jira can be a little bit of work. I would like to state that I am no Jenkins expert, but I do use Jenkins. With this said, it looks as though there is a Jenkins Plugin which should meet your needs.

The plugin is called Jira Issue Updater Plugin. The plugin states the following:

This is a Jenkins plugin which updates issues in Atlassian JIRA (by changing their status, adding a comment or updating fields) as part of a Jenkins job.
Jira-Issue-Updater-Plugin can search for issues to update using a flexible, user-definable JQL which can contain arbitrary variable values from the Jenkins Build, and update the contents of the JIRA.
The plugin can be called during a Post Build Step and/or as a Post Build Action.

Common Use Cases:

• Update a JIRA when a build passes/fails, for example to keep an audit trail in JIR
  • Update Fixed Versions in JIRA
  • Fail a build if a JIRA cannot be found

I hope you find this helpful.

Regards,
Stephen Sifers

Kalyan Raj Sista November 21, 2018

My jenkins instance is behind the firewall so I cannot directly update CI builds tab within JIRA issue. However, as suggested by you, I used JIRA issue updater plugin and updated the comments section with the build information.

0 votes
Sverre Moe July 28, 2019