How to determine JIRA's in a Release

Mike Bradley July 24, 2020

Hi,  I've been thrown into the JIRA world, and I have no experience with it, but everyone in the division I'm in is using it.  Just yesterday, I put out an Xcel spreadsheet with a list of product items, and the first thing that happened was my manager put it into Confluence... sigh...

OK, back to my question, there seems to be a concept of "Board" and "Structure", and probably other stuff.  What I really want is a list of epics and/or stories that are targeted for a particular release.  I created a "Board" which oddly just references another "board" so I'm not sure the point...  I think structure may be the answer, not sure.  

Ideally, I would like a list of epics/stories, and the targeted release version and then be able to sort on it, so I can see which ones go to which release.  This seems so simple to me, it is likely a dumb question, thanks for putting up with me :-)(

1 answer

0 votes
Michael Andolfatto
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 24, 2020

Hi @Mike Bradley , welcome to the community!

Just some background context that might be useful:

Jira has its own query language known as JQL which always returns a set of issues depending on how you structure the query. You can save and reuse these queries (which become known as Saved Filters) and they become the backbone of a lot of different Jira features such as Boards and Reports.

For your question, there are two fast approaches you can take: