How to add checkbox to "create Issue" dialog in jira?

Yann L November 8, 2015

When creating an Issue I would like to have a checkbox additional to the Summary, Reporter etc. When the checkbox is checked I want to run a java application.

Since I'm a beginner in JIRA development it's difficult for me to find the right approach for my problem. I already went through the "Set up the Atlassian Plugin SDK.." Tutorial. Where should I go now from this point?

2 answers

1 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 8, 2015

There's two parts to this.

First, a checkbox is easy - go to admin -> custom fields, and add a "multi check box".   Give it a single option.  Then go to admin -> Screens and find the "issue create" screen you want to add this to.  Add the new custom field.

The second part is handled by the route you've started down - you need a post-function added to your create transition - it should check the value of the custom field and run your stuff if it's checked.  See https://developer.atlassian.com/jiradev/jira-platform/building-jira-add-ons/jira-plugins2-overview/jira-plugin-module-types/workflow-plugin-modules for building an add-on to provide that function

Yann L November 14, 2015