Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help please with implementing auto creation date on cards

Robin Schnitzler November 13, 2019

I saw a terrific post about automating a date when creating new trello cards. However, while I'm tech savvy, I'm completely new to Trello and don't know how to implement this - can someone please guide me?

https://community.atlassian.com/t5/Trello-questions/Visible-Trello-Cards-Creation-Date-Automation/qaq-p/1083244

Here is what this post states:

Q: Is there a way to automate a date marking on trello cards and make it noticable in the same time?

A: When a card is created set the title to "[{date}] {triggercardname}"

Response: Great! Made a rule when the card is created to rename title to suggested "[{date}] {triggercardname}" and it did perfectly what I wanted. Many thanks.

Thanks!

1 answer

0 votes
Iain Dooley
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 13, 2019

@Robin Schnitzler it's a Butler command. If you click the "Butler" button at the top right of your board you can create rules and buttons etc.

Robin Schnitzler November 14, 2019

Yes, I am aware of Butler, but I've never used this and really need more step-wise guidance.

Iain Dooley
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 14, 2019

@Robin Schnitzler okay so what's the trouble you're having in creating this automation with Butler? You click the Button, add a rule and then ... what happens?

Robin Schnitzler November 18, 2019

This is what I've tried. (I have never used Butler before.)

This is not giving me the intended outcome... :(

Robin

trello screen shot 11-18-19.png

Iain Dooley
Community Leader
Community Leader
November 18, 2019