Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Emailing into trello with custom fields

Graeme Copestake July 29, 2022

Hello - I currently use the butler automation to email in from outlook to create cards. This helps with a zero inbox. When I email the card I add the date and time at the front of the subject line and #colour which helps drop it into lists (delegate / plan / future ideas). 

however, I want to start using custom fields to help manage concepts / projects I have, rather than just treating everything like a task. 

So, what do I need to do when I send the email and what special automation do I need to do in trello to start capturing custom fields. 

this will also help with swimlanes too!

I am a novice at this so please explain as if I have a low reading age 😀

thanks in advance team!

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
milynnus
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 29, 2022

@Graeme Copestake 

Here's an example and the card

when a card with a description starting with "{*}={*}\n{*}" is emailed into list "Inbox", set custom field "{wildcard1}" to "{wildcard2}"

Body of the email looks like this

Name=Peter Pan

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book. It has survived not only five centuries, but also the leap into electronic typesetting, remaining essentially unchanged. It was popularised in the 1960s with the release of Letraset sheets containing Lorem Ipsum passages, and more recently with desktop publishing software like Aldus PageMaker including versions of Lorem Ipsum.

Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 8.36.21 PM.jpg