Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Convert checklist item to a card on another board using Butler

Sharon Blanchard March 29, 2022

Is it possible to set up a rule in Butler to convert a checklist item assigned to a member into a new card on another board? I'm new to using Butler and I'm not sure how to even attempt this.

Thanks for any assistance!

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Hannah Humbert - Simpla Workflows
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 29, 2022

Hi @Sharon Blanchard ! Welcome to the community :) Yes! This is possible. Your rule would look something like this:

linked card.PNG

The trigger is pretty broad, so you might want to narrow down which items need to be turned into linked cards and sent to this specific board. You can make your trigger conditional - e.g. "when an item containing "X" is added to "X" checklist".

Let me know if you need more info :)

Thanks Hannah!  I was hoping that I could assign someone to a checklist item and that would trigger the creation of a card in their workboard. I haven't had luck narrowing down to the assigned member using the containing X option.

Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 29, 2022

Gotcha! For the moment, there aren't any triggers that involve advanced checklist information (check-item member assignment or dates). It's a reasonably new feature, so it's likely it hasn't been built into butler yet. You can reach out to Trello directly here if you want to ask if it's planned for the near future.