How do we customise the Knowledge Base

Trisha Cowley April 15, 2019

Hi,

I may have the wrong Admin settings (but I am a Site Admin).  I can't for the life of me find out where I can edit the Knowledge Base look and feel, layout, add categories etc.  I can edit the Space that is linked to the Knowledge Base - where we upload the How to Articles to, but not the actual Knoweldge Base that the Customer will see.  HELP!

Cheers,

Trish

2 answers

0 votes
Jens Becker [Incloud]
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
April 17, 2019

Hi @Trisha Cowley 

I assume you are using Jira Service Desk. When you go to your Service Desk Project it will probably look like this:

Screenshot 2019-04-17 at 12.58.55.png

When go to to Knowledge Base you can create categories clicking on "+ New Category" and add articles to it.

Now if you want to change the look and feel of your Knowledgebase/Help Centre go to Channels > Help Centre. This will open your Help Centre like this one: https://incloud-products.atlassian.net/servicedesk/customer/portals

Here you can (assuming you have the rights) click on Customize.

Screenshot 2019-04-17 at 13.06.37.png

And here you can change all kind of look and feel options.

I hope that answers your question. :)

0 votes
Shannon S
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 16, 2019

Trish,

Thank you for reaching out! Happy to help.

From my understanding, you don't want to modify how the space looks in Confluence, but how it appears from the Service Desk Portal's Knowledge Base.

Is this correct? Can you let me know exactly what you need to change? Please also confirm your Confluence and Jira Service Desk versions so I can make sure to give you the instructions for the right version.

Regards,

Shannon

Trisha Cowley April 16, 2019

Thanks Shannon,