atlas-mvn eclipse:eclipse issue with the JDK

Hi everyone, I'm new with all of this, this is my first question here in the site.

I was working with the java JDK 1.6, but I changet it to the 1.7 version (cause the application in the company is workinh under this one).

The issue is when I apply the atlas-mvn eclipse:eclipse command, I get this:

[WARNING] Workspace defines a VM that does not contain a valid jre/lib/rt.jar: C:\Program Files\Java\jre7
[INFO] Adding default classpath container: org.eclipse.jdt.launching.JRE_CONTAINER/org.eclipse.jdt.internal.debug.ui.launcher.
StandardVMType/JavaSE-1.6

I changed the path to the 1.7 directory, then in eclipse added the jdk1.7 to the installled JREs. But that message is always shown, and the project is build under version 1.6.

In the project explorer in eclipse, I see this include: JRE System Library [JavaSE-1.6] for all the new projects, and the ones that I applied that comman (atlas-mvn eclipse:eclipse). So, the system is not recongnizing the change to 1.7?

Someone can help me with this, thank you!!

P.D: I have tried deleting the buildpath, configuring it, changing to 1.7 in the project properties, but none of those have worked.

2 answers

If you are using Windows maybe you can try updating the JAVA_HOME system variable and make it point to your Java 1.7 JDK?

I already did that, that was not the problem, but thanks.

Hi Jhonnatan,

Please change the --vm entry in the eclipse.ini file. To change follow the steps,

Navigate to the root of the Eclipse installation --> Take backup of the eclipse.ini file --> Edit the eclipse.ini file with your favorite text editor --> Add a -vm entry to file before any -vmargs entry with your latest java path

File will be looking like below:

-startup

plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.2.0.v20110502.jar

--launcher.library

plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.100.v20110502

-product

org.eclipse.epp.package.jee.product

--launcher.defaultAction

openFile