Rest API Returns no projects even though I am site admin

ericreiner
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
November 15, 2019

I am a site admin and trying to use the REST API to retrieve a list of projects.  In the UI I am able to see and manipulate all projects/items.  The REST API always returns 0 projects. 

var jira = Jira.CreateRestClient("[App URL]", "[username]", "[password]", new JiraRestClientSettings() { EnableRequestTrace = true });
            var yyy=jira.Projects.GetProjectsAsync().Result.ToList();
            var response1 = jira.RestClient.ExecuteRequestAsync(RestSharp.Method.GET, $"/rest/api/3/project/search").Result;
            var response2 = jira.RestClient.ExecuteRequestAsync(RestSharp.Method.GET, $"rest/api/2/project?expand=id,title&recent=10&includeArchived=true&browseArchive=true").Result;

I have tried the 3 ways above and all return successful but have no projects listed.  I assume this is a permission issue but can not find what permission I might be missing.  Since I am a Site Admin, I should have everything.

2 answers

0 votes
Warren
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 18, 2019

Hi @ericreiner 

As @Hana Kučerová said, what code is returned? Is it an error code or success code?

Try a simple issue call like /rest/api/3/search or even /rest/api/3/search?jql=key=ABC-123 to just return one issue (where ABC-123 is an issue that you know you can see in Jira) - does this work?

The permission that you need to check, for each project, is 

Screenshot_2.jpg

Warren
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 18, 2019