On Jira server version 8.14, workflow, want to inspect board filter and parse data to populate

Bonnie Lopes April 15, 2021

On Jira server version 8.14, workflow post function, I want to inspect the board filter and parse data to populate a field value on the issue upon issue create transition.

Alternatively, if I cannot inspect board filter, can I run a JQL and inspect a returned issue to take a value in one of those issues and apply it to a field on the issue being created?

Use case: Our boards are filtered using a custom field "Scrum Team", I want to automatically upon issue create, be able to assign the "Scrum Team" value.  I will only know what value to use by either looking at the board filter or other issues already existing on the board.

Has anyone done something like this, that would be willing to share what and how they did it.  I am not a developer, but have access to developers, as I suspect any solution would require a script of some sort.  We do have scriptrunner, if another plug-in would do this more elegantly, I would be interested in hearing what those are as well.

Thank you community!

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Bonnie Lopes April 19, 2021

I was actually able to come upon the answer I was looking for.  This is what I was trying to be able to do.

Using Javascript

/** * JQL Parser * *  designed to extract the required fields from a JQL query string. * * Step 1: * tokenizer() * This step breaks the string up into an array of tokens. We generate a token each time we hit whitespace or a special character. The tokenizer understands quoted  strings and escaped quotes so "Scrum Team" is a single token. *

* Using the JQL: Project = EAP AND "Scrum Team" = Redshift  the tokens would be * ["Project", "=", "EAP", "AND", "Scrum Team", "=", "Redshift"]