New user help... Please

Joseph Evanson Jr_ May 16, 2024

Hi, i'm new to Jira and while I love the capabilities, onboarding as a new user is not particularly intuitive. I have a few questions and hopefully someone can help me out.

1. is it possible to add cards to Kanban boards in a company managed project? I am the admin and I have not invited any team members yet as I am still getting familiar with the system but when I create a company managed board it defaults with the standard "To Do", "In Progress", and "Done" cards but unlike in a team managed board there is no + sign to add another card. How do I add more cards? For example a "For Review" card.

2. I'm also not clear on the transition from multiple platforms into one Jira and am having an issue with a trial. When I first signed up to try the software I selected Jira Work Management since that is how i'll be using the program, for project management. My company specializes in design, and rapid prototyping. However as I was trying to demo the features and set up test projects some features were missing in the free version so I tried to activate the trial of Jira Premium. The trial seems to be of Jira Software Premium. I understand Work Management is combining at some point but the projects I created are still under Work Management and when I click on Jira in my apps dropdown it brings me into Jira software and says "You don't have any software projects."

There are a few other issues bugging me but for brevity sake i'll stop here. I have started checking out Atlassian University and have tried searching for answers to my questions with no success. If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2 answers

0 votes
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 16, 2024

Hello @Joseph Evanson Jr_ 

Welcome to the Atlassian community.