I can't drag and drop backlog issues to a sprint...hence can't start a sprint

Nathan March 16, 2020

Hi, 

I have a site/project admin in Jira. I have seen comments about granting myself all sorts of  permission on permission schemes and follow that as well.

But I still drag an issue into a sprint to start one. I am using Next-generation Jira. Is there any issue regarding this?

6 answers

2 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nathan March 17, 2020

So, it's solved now. I went to 'access' in the project setting. It shows that I am an administrator.  But I just go ahead and type my name in the search filed. Next to the search field, a dropdown menu exists, where you choose which ever access you want to give to the searched user (the option being Administrator, Member, View). Even though, on the list down shows I am administrator, in the dropdown menu the administrator option was not checked. 

I just go ahead and checked that. I didn't see any different on the list, as my name  is still associated with the Admin account. But that did it for the drag and drop thingy. Strange, but worked!

0 votes
Answer accepted
Brent March 16, 2020

I can't promise it will fix it for you, but here's what worked for me. Since adding from the Backlog wasn't working, I navigated to one of the individual issue pages and on that page manually added the issue to the desired sprint (right hand side, same as other fields) from the drop down of available sprints (you may need to add the 'Sprint' field to your issue.) 

After that, I refreshed the backlog and it added and I could then drag and drop others as well. Very strange, but give it a shot. 

Nathan March 17, 2020

I did that actually, but it didn't work. First time, i didn't refresh. And I follow what you said, it didn't work either. 

it feels like some things work accidentally in this net-gen. It is not bullet proof yet

2 votes
Nicketa August 16, 2021

Check if ranking is disabled in board configuration.

MarcosWel February 17, 2023