Configure Issue type heirarchy - custom heirarchy for a project

Jeffrey Leung
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
February 25, 2024

Our organization recently purchased Advanced Jira Roadmaps.  I want to customize my project with customized issue type hierarchies.  I'm asking if I create and apply my custom changes that they do NOT affect any other projects (in my company managed project).  

I am an admin for my project and I'm using the following URL to guide me on my implementation:  Configure custom hierarchy levels in your plan | Jira Software Cloud | Atlassian Support.

When I attempted to make a change to my project's heirarchy, the following message came up:

"Are you sure you want to change the hierarchy configuration?

Moving or changing the hierarchy levels of issue types will break existing links in all company-managed projects in your site.  This change can't be reversed.

2 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 25, 2024

Hi Jeffrey,

No, the Issue Type Hierarchy is applied across the entire site. There is only one Hierarchy so whatever it is must be applied to all projects. And, so if you change the existing one, it will affect all projects using it. 

0 votes
Hannes Obweger - JXL for Jira
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
February 26, 2024

Hi @Jeffrey Leung

as already suggested, Jira natively only supports one global hierarchy across the site.