Marisette Edwards: Agile evangelist, home builder, and author

Nametag.jpg

Describe the career path that led you to become a Project Software Engineer / SCRUM master extraordinaire at Philips Respironics! 

I started out pre-med with a computer science major as a backup. After a summer internship and a stint as an Emergency Medical Technician, I decided I liked computer science more than medicine (all those gross human body fluids and excretions). I spent decades working in various areas of process control systems––steel mills and railroads mostly. Then I discovered medical devices met my desire to make a difference in people's lives while still allowing me to continue to do technical engineering work (while still avoiding the excretions).

relaxing.jpg

I was introduced to a version of Agile development on a project to develop a wearable dialysis device. I really liked the way that worked for the team, but the tools we used were Excel and Word, and they just weren't cutting it! So, when that job ended due to the company's elimination of R&D at our facility, I joined Philips Respironics. As software lead on an upgrade project, I was encouraged by my manager to introduce Agile to our embedded software team, and he was more than willing to set us up with an appropriate tool––Jira!