Cannot access Jira after server reboot

Christopher Graff October 17, 2018

I'm new to Jira and have been working in it for several days. I've also been adding/configuring multiple add-ons. I rebooted the host today (windows updates) and afterwards I cannot access Jira. The Jira service appears to be running. I've rebooted additional time to no avail. I've also stopped and restarted the Jira service to no avail (it starts and shows as running but I cannot access). When trying to hit the default app (localhost:8080) my browser says localhost refused to connect; err_connection_refused.

As I'm new to Jira I'm not sure where to turn next. I've tried looking at log files but not really sure what to be looking for. In the Atlassian-jira-gc logs I see "Allocation Failure" errors but don't know what to do with that. I've also got lots of warnings and errors in the jirasoftware log; but again, not sure how to use that.

I've tried searchign the community but most issues are that people can get to a Jira login or startup screen. I cannot.

-chris

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Christopher Graff October 26, 2018

There was an existing service using port 8005 that Jira install documentation failed to mention Jira would be trying to use.

1 vote
Daniel Eads
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 18, 2018

Hi Christopher,

There are multiple things that could be happening to cause the behavior you're seeing. Let's try some troubleshooting steps to see if we can narrow down the cause:

1. Stop the Windows service and check in the Task Manager for any running tomcat instances. If you've got multiple tomcat processes running, right click the Properties and check to see if they were launched from the Jira install folder:
    image.png