Basic functions of JIRA missing

Timothy Wintle March 16, 2019

Hi,

So, i'm relatively new to JIRA, having come from a background of using TFS.  There are some fairly fundamental functions which I can't find in the out-of-the-box solution but I'm wondering whether I'm missing something.  The first is an easy way to export queries from JIRA to Excel and visa versa, Excel has much more powerful query functions than anything offered within JIRA.  The articles I've found discuss using a power query approach but this doesn't seem to work for me as I'm getting a 400 error whenever I try this.

The second thing I'm looking for is a really simple gadget that will simply count the number of items returned in a given query and return it to my dashboard.  This doesn't seem to me like rocket science.  Example image below of TFS panels:

Panels.png

1 answer

1 vote
JP _AC Bielefeld Leader_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 16, 2019

Hi Timothy,

exporting to Excel is not needed by everyone, so you might want to check this:

https://blog.deiser.com/en/seven-ways-to-export-jira-issues

A doubt that Excel has much more powerful query function than Jira. Did you get in contact with JQL by now. This is the query language which is used inside Jira to search & filter for issues & covers nearly every aspect out of the box. And if you need special functions, it's easily extendable with own scripts or apps from the marketplace.

Check https://confluence.atlassian.com/jiracore/blog/2015/07/search-jira-like-a-boss-with-jql

for a starter.

You can design own dashboard with various gadgets by yourself, displaying the information shown in your screenshot.

This give you an idea:

https://www.atlassian.com/blog/jira-software/5-steps-to-build-a-killer-dashboard

Best 

JP

Timothy Wintle March 16, 2019