Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the point of "Closed" vs. "Canceled" or "Resolved"?

Eric H15 May 20, 2022

TLDR: Closed vs. Canceled and Resolved is confusing. Trying to learn why it exists and how to use it appropriately.

Detail:

I'm new to Jira service management. My old ticket system had three statuses:

• Unassigned
  • Open
  • Closed

In the old system you could return from Closed to Open.

While trialing Jira, I'm adjusting to Canceled and Resolved. I like these statuses and can work with them. However after this, there is a Closed  status which I am having difficulty adjusting to. Some issues:

1. Once a ticket is closed, you can't open it back up. This seems counterintuitive. I may think I have an issue resolved, only for it to pop up a week later.

2. Having two layers means I have to walk through additional steps to close a ticket. I must set it to Canceled or Resolved, and then perform another step of closing the ticket.

3. If I set an automation to auto-close Canceled or Resolved tickets, then I receive  unwanted notifications about the tickets closing.

What is the point of this extra layer? Do supervisors review all resolved tickets and mark them as closed? Does it give time for customers to respond so you can re-open later? Why can't I just re-open a ticket after it closes instead of having it locked down?

Overall this extra layer is creating more work and noise. I'm sure Jira had a reason for doing this...some ITSM standard perhaps.

So some questions:

1. Why the two layers? Is it an ITSM standard?

2. How is it supposed to be used? I'm guessing that a large service center may have a supervisor reviewing resolved tickets before manually closing...?

3. How are people actually using it? Are you manually closing tickets? Using automation to do so? Creating your own workflow without the Closed status? Perhaps you never close tickets? Just curious.

2 comments

Joseph Chung Yin
Community Leader