Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JSM issue view is TERRIBLE for email conversations - how can I configure it differently?

Emily Wood August 21, 2022

Hi all!

TL;DR - trying to view incoming requests for customer support via Jira SM is giving me a headache!

• Emailed requests are formatted awfully; it's so difficult to read what would be a fairly basic email trail/conversation once it enters Jira.
  • No option to CC others? We frequently get support requests forwarded to our support inbox, which filter through to Jira. I can always reply directly outside of Jira, but then I still have to go into the Jira issue anyway and end up taking twice as long due to double handling.

I'm an admin for our service project but not a global admin; thankfully we are small enough that I can make direct requests to the global admin and we can figure out what works, but he's currently on leave.

We used to just respond to emails directly, but it lacked visibility for the rest of the support team to know if something had been dealt with or not. Our Development team use Jira so we thought using JSM would be a great way to integrate support requests/bug reports, etc - but it's honestly causing me so much frustration because it's really not user friendly. I can use it fine for viewing and commenting on our trackers for the development team as it's all internal and fairly simple, but the issue view for service management is DOING MY HEAD IN 😭 it seems created for and by engineers/ developers, but with no UX research/design on other user types (eg myself - a neurodivergent customer support coordinator who needs to be able to locate or log the critical details FAST)

Feeling really disappointed and disheartened as we've spent a long time trying to get JSM up and running and I feel like it's making my job harder not easier.

1 answer

1 vote
Alex Koxaras _Relational_
Community Leader
Community Leader