Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JIRA automation - need help to create tasks upon closing the previous task

Amroz October 30, 2021

I am new to JIRA automation. I have a set of tasks that need to happen upon a trigger. Each of these tasks are sequential and need an owner assigned as soon as the previous task in line is complete. Could you please tell me if the below is feasible through JIRA automation?

Logic:

1. Create a trigger to create an issue when a user types certain key words in the subject of the email email summary 

2. Create sub task 1 and auto assign it to member 1

3. Once sub task 1 is complete create sub task 2 and  auto assign to member 2 

4. Once sub task 2 is complete create sub task 3 and auto assign it to member 3

5. Once sub task 3 is complete, close the parent issue and notify via email 

1 answer

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Ivan Lima
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 31, 2021

Hi @Amroz. Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

I'm pretty sure it's possible to create something like you described. However, could you please clarify your use case so we can better assist you?

1. Create a trigger to create an issue when a user types certain key words in the subject of the email email summary 

I suppose you want to "scan" the summary field to look for specific strings and create a sub-task if the keywords/strings match your condition. Is it when the ticket gets created or even when the summary field is updated?

Why couldn't you create all sub-tasks at once? You still can have automation to notify users upon completion of the latest sub-task. Also, what if a new sub-task gets manually created after all? Sometimes, it's worth exercising a few scenarios to gain insights into the bigger picture before working on the automation.