Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to switch a task from one sprint to another according to the editing time

Juliana Fernandes Martins February 14, 2023

I need to switch a task automatically from one sprint to another depending on the last edit date. I'm new to jira and I'm not sure how to automate this process.

ex.: I need task 1 to move from A to B within X time, but when in B it can go to C in Y time.
A, B and C are sprints and X and Y different time periods to consider in automating the change.

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 14, 2023

Hello @Juliana Fernandes Martins 

Welcome to the Atlassian community!

Are these all active sprints running in parallel?

Typically an issue is assigned to a sprint when the commitment is made to complete the work of that issue within that sprint. It remains in the sprint until the sprint ends. If the work is not completed, then the issue is either moved to another sprint or moved to the backlog.

Can you provide more information about your scenario? What problem are you trying to solve by moving issues from one sprint to another based on when the issue was edited?

Juliana Fernandes Martins February 14, 2023

Thank you for replying!

They are not sprints running in parallel.

The idea of ​​having this change is to organize the period before a sprint, which is currently not happening in an organized or periodic way. In general, the sprint that is taking place will not suffer from such an alteration, since it follows the logic of one.

Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 14, 2023