Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to link existing Projects/Boards to a new JSM project

Joao Borges July 26, 2021

Hi there

I am new to JSM and trying to link an existing board from a different project, to our new JSM service PROJECT.

So the team will create a ticket using the new tool, JSM. JSM project will be linked to an existing project from JIRA Software. (TECHNOLOGY); and as soon as a ticket gets created, it will appear on TECH KANBAN board

Is it possible do link a JSM service to an existing JIRA Software service ?Or I would need to create a brand new board ?

Thanks,

2 answers

1 vote
Daniel Ebers
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 30, 2021

Hi @Joao Borges

what @Melo describes is the way that I would also have recommended intuitively.
It is just what is done in Jira for requirements like the one you discussed here.

Of course, you could bring in Automation (it is free and ready to use in your instance) but it will not address the requirement as you explained. Rather you use this way normally to create a clone of a created issue in a different project - OR - to create a new issue in a different project and link both.

Here are some more information and inspiration:
https://www.atlassian.com/software/jira/features/automation

Again, for the exact requirement I'd suggest the implementation of Melo.

Regards,
Daniel

0 votes
Melo
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 26, 2021

Hi Joao,

You can add the new JSM project to your existing board. If you're are familiar with JQL, it can be straightforward.

Here is how to edit a board filter: