Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to allow a Customer to change status of a request themselves from the Customer Portal?

Christina Hiller May 9, 2018

Is there a way to allow a customer to close or cancel an issue they create from the portal?

2 answers

3 votes
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 9, 2018

Yes. If you have admin permissions you can edit the workflow, select the transition and expose it to the portal.

Thanks for the response. Unfortunately, I am not seeing that option when I add a transition and I am an admin.  Any other suggestions?

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 9, 2018

See if this helps. You should certainly see the option on your transitions. If you still don’t have any luck let me know and include some screenshots of your workflow with the transition being edited.

Screenshot 2018-05-09 21.16.13.pngThanks for the suggestion. Still no luck. Attached is a screenshot the 'Re-Open' transition I'm testing with.  

Haris Psarropoulos September 20, 2019

Coming back to this issue as I thought till now that it is not supported by Atlassian. But it seems I was wrong. When selecting a transition of the service desk workflow, I get the below screen where I can tick the checkbox and a link appears in the portal so that the customer can click on it when the ticket is on the designated status.

Caution should be taken if the transition has a screen connected to it. The portal cannot show screens, so it will require from you to set some default values when the customer triggers it. For example, we have the resolution there and we had to set it to leave it as is.