Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I add request participants without having to create the user each time?

Bill Cronin January 7, 2021

As a Service Desk Agent, I want to be able to quickly add a request participant to an existing ticket by entering their email into the Request Participants field without having to go and create a user every time. How do I do this?

For example, a user creates a ticket. I realize I need to copy in 3 people that are not currently users. I want to paste their emails into the Request Participants field and have the add these emails to future communication. How can I do this without having to create a new user every time? I can do this from the customer portal, so why can an agent do this from inside JIRA?

6 answers

2 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Dirk Ronsmans
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 8, 2021

hi @Bill Cronin 

it does seem the same functionality from the portal just doesn't exist in the agent side.

perhaps consider raising it as a suggestion here: https://jira.atlassian.com/issues/?filter=98705

There are workarounds you can implement with apps such as Jira email this issue where you can use a custom field to store a list of email addresses and then use that custom field in the to/cc of an email template.

It depends on how annoying you find adding these users manually (or using the "open the request on portal" and adding the email addresses there) and how much you wish to invest (both financially and effort wise) to resolve this / make this easier to do

Dirk Ronsmans
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 8, 2021