Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! How to get a User Property as custom field into an issue?

Tamara Voss April 24, 2019

Hi there, 

I am new to Jira and need help on getting User Property "Department" into the Issue form. I found the custom field type "User Property Field (<255 characters)", but did not find how to get the Reporter's Department value in there. What am I missing?

We are using Jira Service Desk Cloud.

Any help would be very much appreciated. Will be on vacation after Friday this week, would be so great if I could get this sorted before...

Greetings!

Tamara

4 answers

1 vote
aleksandr_pavlovic July 14, 2020

Hello :)

You have to add a default value to a "User Property Field" you've created.

JIRA Administraton -> Issues -> Custom Fields -> User Property Field (<255 characters) -> configure -> Edit default value -> add

The format for the field’s defauft value is: <fieldname>:<user property name>, where <fieldname> can be “reporter”, “assignee” or the name of any other custom field that will return the login name of a user.

For example, if you create a User Picker (single user) custom filed called Customer and have a user property called “Phone” setting the User Property’s default value to “Customer:Phone” will return the value of the phone number of the currently picked user.

Well, better late than never.

Kerli Loopman February 16, 2023

@aleksandr_pavlovic is there any way to make user properties synced from Azure AD? For example to add users manager and department to properties. Can't find a solution without plugins for that to use in user property custom field.

For JSM users it is possible to create users as Assets objects and request the Department from there but any suggestions for user property? Or what are the common use cases for user properties? 

ASP Systems February 23, 2023

Hello @aleksandr_pavlovic