Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Follow-up date as a variable in custom notifications

Helene Otte December 20, 2022

I would like to add the follow-up date as a variable to a custom notification - so the customer can see when I would like to follow-up on the task.

Can I do the and if yes how do I do that. 

1 answer

0 votes
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 20, 2022

Hi Helene  - Welcome to that Atlassian Community!

I would create a custom field with a Date type. Then you can populate the field and keep it updated based on an Automation rule. 

Helene Otte December 21, 2022

Hi John 

That sounds easy, but I am really new in Jira - so do you have a guide I can follow, I have tried to search the internet but with out luck. 

John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 21, 2022

Not really a guide but I can tell you steps more or less.

What is the criteria on how the follow-up date will be calculated? I am assuming it will be something related to the Due Date, such as 10 days prior to the Due Date or something like that? 

Let's start with that so I can give better guidance. 

The follow-up date will not be calculated it is a date we can choose when we respond on a task see attached picture. Follow-up.JPG

John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
December 21, 2022

Okay - looks like you have that added. What additional functionality are you needing? 

The date is not visible for the customer.

I would like it to appear in the customer notification I send to the customer, like the “${request.status}”.