Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Escalation of a issue to a team of agents

Simone Lechte February 18, 2021

Hi everyone, 

I am fairly new to Jira Service Management and was hoping that someone could assist me with nutting out the process/fields or kindly directing me to someone who can help.

When we receive a support ticket we have a group of L1 customer-facing agents who will review the requests and respond to the client where possible.

In the cases where they are unable to respond due to further information or investigation required we need the ticket to be escalated to our L2 team.

Once an L2 agent reviews the ticket they either assign:
- it to themselves
- to the appropriate L2 agent
- escalate to our developers
- or return it to L1 with information to pass onto the client.

Our platform is very comprehensive and we have multiple L2 agents who manage different types of requests/areas of our platform. Due to the comprehensive nature of this, our L1 staff have a limited understanding of who manages what area. In addition to this, our workforce is spread across multiple locations and we have had in the past delays to support due to agents on leave/unavailable.

We also want majority of our responses to clients to come from our L1 team. 

If there is anyone who can assist or provide guidance it would be greatly appreciated :)

Thank you

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Brant Schroeder
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 19, 2021

@Simone Lechte 

I have setup several service desks like this and solve the problem multiple ways.  Both service desks focused on total ownership of an issue by the L1 agent.  The L1 agent remained the assignee in both cases and was responsible for ensuring that the issue was completed.