Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Copying a project inheriting the settings from another one

oracle.paulo.fonseca July 5, 2022

I'm new to Jira and I'm still in my infancy using the product. My company has some projects created in Jira and I need to create a new project and inherit settings from another one. So I created a Software Development project but I don't find an option to inform the project from which I want to inherit the settings. I need help with a step by step.

2 answers

2 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Mayur Jadhav
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 5, 2022

Hi @oracle.paulo.fonseca ,

Hope you are doing well!!

Please follow the step below to of you want to create a project with a shared configuration with an existing project.

1. Click on create project button.

jira1.png

2. After clicking it will down the template based on product which have in your organization such as Jira software, Jira service management, etc. Once you chose any of the template it will list down sub templates at right side. for example I have selected Service management and ITSM.

jira 2.png

3. Click on use template and it will open new page where you need give the project name and Key and if you want to use the setting/configurations of existing project then click on the checkbox and search for the project. 

jira 3.png

4. Once you have selected the project, click on create project. You project will be created with same configuration.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Mayur

Hi Mayur, thanks for your prompt response.

The project type is "Software Development" not "Service Management".

I got it. Thanks.

1 vote
Answer accepted
Max Foerster - K15t
Community Leader
Community Leader