Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Copying Field Value (Date Picker) into Summary

Matthias Brockmeier February 14, 2023

Hello everyone,

as a Jira Rookie I am currently experimenting with certain workflows and I stumpled over the current issue:

In the Create-Transition of a workflow I implemented a Post Function which copies the Start Date (which is filled by the user in the Request Form) into the summary.

It does work but it also copies the time of day into the summary.

For example: The user enters "01.03.2023" into the field and the post function changes the summary to: "01.03.2023 00:00"

The field type for the Start Date is a date picker (not date time picker).

Thanks for your advice.

3 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
David Fischer
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 16, 2023

Oops, I didn't check the initial question before expanding on @Evn Tomeny (Appfire) 's answer. 
On Server/DC, You can use the Set Field Value post function, select the Summary field as the field to set, choose "Constant or Groovy Template" as the Value type, and use this as the value:

${issue.get("summary"} - ${issue.get("Start Date").format("dd.MM.yy")}

(or any other date formatting you want - see https://docs.oracle.com/javase/8/docs/api/java/text/SimpleDateFormat.html)

Matthias Brockmeier February 16, 2023

The expression is working. Thanks a lot.

Like Deleted user likes this
2 votes
Evn Tomeny (Appfire)
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
February 14, 2023