cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automation: check if user mentioned in comment belongs to project role

Pierre-Xavier Puissant
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
November 6, 2023

Hi there!

I'm pretty new to Jira, and I'm implementing some automations in my Service Desk project.

Among them, there is one automation that should execute when any user mentions another user that specifically belong to a defined project role (in an internal comment).

What I'm looking for here is: in automation, what would be the way to 1. check if a comment is internal and 2. if the user mentioned in this comment belongs to a specific project role?

Didn't find anything that could help me around here, looking forward for answers!

1 answer

0 votes
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 6, 2023

Hello @Pierre-Xavier Puissant 

Welcome to the Atlassian community.

If you use the Issue Commented trigger then you can use an Advanced Compare to check if the comment was an Internal comment thus:

Screenshot 2023-11-06 at 1.24.30 PM.png

There is a method to extract from a comment all the users mentioned in that comment, described as part of this article:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/jirakb/automation-identify-users-mentioned-in-comment-and-add-them-to-custom-field-1283687360.html

However there is not currently a simple action/condition in Automation for Jira to check if a user is a member of a project role. There might be a way to check that through a REST API call made through a Send Web Request action, but I have not tried to figure that out.

Pierre-Xavier Puissant
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!