Can you Add multiple Custom Fields from CSV?

Clayton Chancey May 3, 2016

I'm new to Jira,, and am building the architecture for a new interface requiring many hundreds of custom fields.

I'm wondering if there's a way to avoid the process of clicking "Add Custom Field" and manually clicking through the configuration of each field... perhaps a CSV sheet with each configuration item separated out, and imported through some kind of plugin? The same question would also apply to the creation/configuration of User Groups, Screen, Workflow Transitions, and even modifying Script Post-Functions in individual Workflow Transitions.

I'm desperately looking for any way to avoid plodding through hours of click-clicking, when I already have the logic and architecture determined. Help?!

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 6, 2016

Hey Clayton!

You can accomplish what you're trying to do using a Jelly script:

Jelly Tags - Create Custom Field

That said, I'd highly suggest that you try and reuse as many fields as you can to keep the number of custom fields to a minimum.  Having a large number of custom fields is a very common culprit for lots of performance issues, especially as things start to scale.

Good luck!

0 votes
Clayton Chancey May 6, 2016

Thanks, Cody!

That does definitely make it much easier. And I see your point... I'm working with a pre-existing workflow to expand the current functionality. Definitely agree with you, there are more resource-efficient ways to organize a workflow without needing hundreds of fields. However, with my current time constraints I'm unable to restructure the workflow altogether to accommodate this.

Rising Star
Rising Star