cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auditing user groups

Esther Strom
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 19, 2022

I'm a longtime admin, but I've always been careful with my groups, so I've never run into this before. 

I recently inherited a second instance of Jira from another division of my company. The previous "admin" had not enabled any kind of security; he was essentially a billing contact. Almost every user in the instance had full admin access (which I shut down immediately!) and they were liberal, to say the least, about creating groups.

I'm now trying to figure out what these groups do... Only 5 out of the 100+ groups are providing product access. Is there any way to audit where the other groups are used? 

For example, some kind of report that would show me that group A is in the People section of projects 1, 2, and 3, and group B is used in workflow conditions or validators in projects 4, 5, 6. 

We are on Premium, if it makes a difference. I'm also willing to install an add-on if there's one that will help.

6 answers

Suggest an answer

2 votes
Chris Thomas
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 19, 2022

At Atlassian Teams 22 there was a vendor who had a marketplace app called Glass Project and I think this is it: Glass Project Documentation for Jira | Atlassian Marketplace

What it does is exports all project info into documents like pdf and Confluence. I think it also did others like Excel.

You might be able to export all projects and compile a list of which projects has which groups.

If I had your task this is where I would start.

Esther Strom
Community Leader
Community Leader