cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When to use what in an organization with multiple knowledge management systems

Zim __Appfire__
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 2, 2022

I'm reaching out to the Atlassian community for some insights or success stories. Here's the situation:

I'm an IT manager at an organization that has a rather unwieldy Confluence instance. We've used Confluence for many years and it's served as the primary collaborative documentation tool. The mountains of content make it difficult to search, though.

Within the last few years, our organization has also onboarded GSuite where we have unlimited storage in Google Drive. Some users prefer creating and organizing content in Confluence; others prefer Google Drive. Now, for some types of content, it's easy to provide guidance on where it should live. If one is looking primarily for file storage, a place to backup media, or store company meeting videos, it should definitely be housed on Google Drive rather than Confluence.

However, it gets less clear once we start talking about team documentation. A Confluence page or a Google doc in a Shared Drive are functionally both completely valid options. Both can be searched and found by the teams that need them. Both offer collaborative editing. Both have sufficient rich text editing and formatting capabilities.
I would like to initiate a project in which we standardize how pages are produced and maintained in Confluence. I plan to use these new governance rules to clean up our instance. There are plenty of articles, webinars, and whitepapers about cleaning up Confluence. But, part of this huge effort involves equipping users with knowing WHEN to use GSuite vs WHEN to use Confluence.