How do I leave a team in Bitbucket?

Hi,

I have been added to a team by an administrator of that team. I no longer want to be a member of the team. How do I remove myself from the team without contacting the administrator?

1 answer

Christian, there is a "Leave team" button that can be found on the Team's profile page in Bitbucket. You may have to click the arrow next to "Manage team" to see it. If you don't see either, please come to support with the details and we can help remove you.

The "leave team" button seems to only exist for teams on which I am an administrator.

On this team I am an administrator:

And when I am not an administrator:

If this is correct, is it then on purpose that one is not able to remove himself from a team if he is not an administrator?

This is still a problem.  

I cannot leave the team from my past employer, and they still have me as a team member.  There's no way for me to leave the team. 

Searching a little more I found that if you open this URL (replacing <TeamName> with the name of the team you want to leave), you will be able to leave the team even if you are not an admin.

https://bitbucket.org/account/user/<TeamName>/leave-team/ 

I did this right now and it worked perfectly. 

Still dont work... lol...

All the comments about https://bitbucket.org/account/user/<TeamName>/leave-team/  working are either wrong, no longer apply, or the link can some how be disabled by an administrator. I have a team I'm stuck in and can not remove myself, and it has a lot of repositories. The link only ever says that I must have access to view that page, and does not remove me from the team. I still see way more things on my overview than I would like. Major fail after all this time Atlassian. Please fix this issue, so we can do this simple action ourselves.

It works if you include the trailing slash... and you're an administrator. Just did it.