Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in

Trello automation for deactivated users

Huda March 19, 2023

I currently have a couple of automation rules set up on my work's workspace, but I'm leaving the organization soon. If my account gets deactivated or removed from the workspace, will any of the automation rules be impacted? In other words, what happens to the rules created when the person who created them is no longer in the workspace?

2 answers

0 votes
Joseph Chung Yin
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 19, 2023

@Huda -

You need to work with your current site admin team ASAP, so they can switch your automation rules to a different owners prior to your departure.  This is a part of responsibility of site admins to ensure there no interruption of your site's operations.

Hope this is a part of the existing policies/procedures of our work place.

Best, Joseph Chung Yin

Jira/JSM Functional Lead, Global Technology Applications Team

Huda March 19, 2023

Hi Joseph, thanks a lot for your response!  Do you happen to have an article or know the steps for transferring automation rules to different owners? Couldn't find any helpful resources. Best, Huda

Joseph Chung Yin
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 19, 2023

@Huda -

All you have to do is to access the automation rule via Project settings >> Automation and select the rule that you owned (created), then access the Rule details and update the ownership to your replacement.

2023-03-19_21-14-56.png

Best, Joseph

0 votes
Riley Venable
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 19, 2023
If your account is deactivated or deleted from the workspace as a user, any automation rules that you have set up will not continue to function. This is because automation rules are tied to individual user accounts in Trello, and if the account is not active, the rules will not work. However, if an organization admin deactivates your account, your personal data will remain in Atlassian account services, and the admin can reactivate your account at any time, so your automation rules can be reactivated if needed. If your account is deleted, the rules will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
DEPLOYMENT TYPE
CLOUD
TAGS
AUG Leaders

Atlassian Community Events