It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

How to remove an Org and site admin?

Anthony I'm New Here Aug 08, 2019

How does one org admin remove another? I'm an org and site admin, but still unable to remove a user who is also an org and site admin.

2 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted

Hi Anthony,

Welcome to Atlassian Community!
A site and org admin can't remove another one directly, so firstly you need to remove this user from the organization by going to admin.atlassian.com > Click on the organization > Settings > Administrators > Remove the admin. After that, to remove their privileges or delete their account you need to remove the group site-admins of their profile and then you will be able to revoke their access or delete their account.

Regards,
Angélica

It stands:

"You dont have permission to revoke site access for this user" I have site admin rights but seems thats does not help.

Another message is: "We had trouble trying to remove user from the group"

Hi Karamba,

I saw that you created a new question for the same issue, so I'll post the answer there.

Regards,
Angélica

for anyone else viewing this...

I think the interface changed since this was answered, but if you go to admin > users and then click on their name.  scroll down to groups and remove them from the site-admin group (or any other groups that seem to be admin)

THEN after they are removed from the group you can revoke their access or whatever.

Thanks @Todd Empcke . This worked :)

Hi, 

I cannot remove the organisation administrator from the site-admins group, that option is greyed out for me

Can you please help?

Hello please help.

This user is a organization administrator, and their privileges cannot be modified.

I want to remove unwanted users?

Thanks

Hi @Satbir Kaur  and @John Hitge